Master of Culinary Arts

The Master of Culinary Arts (MCA) is regarded as the ultimate accolade for chefs, pastry chefs and restaurant managers in the UK. Held every four years, these prestigious awards recognise outstanding craftsmanship.

Inspired and supported by iconic chefs Michel Bourdin and Albert and Michel Roux OBEs, the MCA was inaugurated in 1987 when it was originally known as the MeilleurOuvrier de Grande Bretagne and based on the MeilleurOuvrier de France. Our committee is made up of leading figures from the hospitality industry.

Who can enter?

MCA candidates must be currently employed full-time within the United Kingdom as a chef, pastry chef or in restaurant management and service. Applicants must also have:

  • At least 10 years of full-time experience in their specific trade (not necessarily consecutively).
  • A range of industrial experience at various levels including at least three years at a senior level.
  • Broad knowledge of traditional and modern gastronomy and service.
  • The ability to demonstrate a range of their specific trade skills at an advanced level under pressure.
  • Undertaken a range of activities as part of their own continuing professional development.
  • Contributed to the training and development of others.
  • Working knowledge of written and spoken English.

Entry Information

MCA 2022 Restaurant Management and Service Information and Entry

MCA 2022 Chefs Information & Entry

MCA 2022 Pastry Chefs Information & Entry

MCA Dates

Mon 31st Jan Launch Event Corinthia London Open Date for Entries
Fri 31st Mar Closing Date for Entries
Fri 29th Apr Service Quarter-Final Grosvenor House
Mon 6th Jun Service Semi-Final Brown’s Hotel
Wed 22nd Jun Pastry Semi-Final University College Birmingham
Wed 6th Jul Kitchen Semi-Final University of West London

Mon 12th Sep &

Tue 13th Sep

Pastry Final University of West London
Mon 26th Sep Kitchen Final University of West London
Mon 3rd Oct Service Final Venue Claude Bosi at Bibendum
Fri 28th Oct Gala Dinner Claridge’s

Educational Sponsor

Our sponsors

Ritter Courivaud

Berkmann Wine Cellars

L’Unico Caffe Musetti

Champagne Laurent-Perrier

Our committee members consist of

David Pitchford

Chairman of MCA


Idris Caldora MCA

Chairman of Culinary Skills


Michael Nadell

Chairman of Pastry

Silvano Giraldin

Chairman of Restaurant Management & Service

Sergio Rebecchi

Chairman of Restaurant Management & Service

MCA Committee

Download PDF List

MCA Past Winners

Download PDF List