The AAE is the most prestigious award available to young professionals in the hospitality industry today, recognising and encouraging the most talented ambitious Chefs, Pastry Chefs and Waiters. Since it began in 1983, over 550 young professionals have achieved the award, setting them off on highly successful career paths. Following Finals held at The Connaught, Le Gavroche, The Gleneagles Hotel, and University of West London, the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts is proud to announce the 23 winners of the Annual Awards of Excellence 2017:


  • Olivia Catherine Burt Fera at Claridge's
  • Samuel King The Ritz London
  • Henry Wadsworth Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Tom Waters Bonhams Restaurant
  • Fergus Wilford Andre Garrett at Cliveden


  • Harry Barber Hakkasan
  • Elena Bockshecker Harrods
  • Alan Holloway Claridge's
  • Mathilde Pilaete Alfred Dunhill


  • Lauren Chappell Cromlix Hotel
  • James Dainton André Garrett at Cliveden
  • Piers Gibson-Birch Luton Hoo Hotel
  • Karen Gruet Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
  • Lewis Hunter The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Ross Hunter The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Stefanie Obermayer The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Remi Orero The Greenhouse
  • Charlotte Poynton The Three Chimneys
  • Giuseppe Scudiero The Ritz London
  • Antonella Sinisgallo Roux at the Landau
  • Alexander Sumerauer The Ritz London
  • Gabriele Tarantola The Ritz London
  • Thomas Wickens The Berkeley Hotel